Just moved to Jacksonville? One of the first things you'll want to do is acquire your Florida driving license. As long as you have a valid license in another state, this is a fairly straightforward and simple process, although identification requirements have been a bit more stringent since 2010.
You will be required to surrender your out-of-state license prior to receiving your Florida license, so don't expect to keep it as a souvenir. After establishing a residence in Jacksonville, state law requires you to obtain your Florida driving license within 30 days, or you'll be subject to fines and penalties.
The minimum age to acquire a Florida license is 16. Children under 18 looking to transfer a driver's license must have held an out-of-state license or permit for 12 months or more. Signature of a parent or guardian is also required.
Round up the necessary documents. To transfer your out-of-state license to Florida, you'll need the driver's license from your previous state, certified proof of birth, proof of address and proof of your social security number. For proof of birth, a state-certified copy of your birth certificate is necessary (hospital certificates are not acceptable). To prove your social security number, locate your social security card (no copies). If you've lost your social security card, visit the Social Security Office and request a new one as well as a verification letter, which will be accepted in lieu of the card.
To prove your address, you'll need two documents. Acceptable documents include rental/lease agreements, mortgage deeds, recent utility bills and voter registration cards. If such documents are not available, a note from a parent, guardian or landlord may be acceptable in some cases.
Locate the nearest Motor Vehicle office. There are nine DLMV (Driver's License, Motor Vehicle) offices in Jacksonville, so finding one close by should be no problem, no matter where you live in the city. Use the Florida Highway Department's handy locator to find one.
Visit the office and obtain your license. Expect the session to last approximately one hour, including the waiting time (which may be non-existent on slow days). Provide the office representative with your documents, turn in your old license and receive your Florida license.
The license fee for Class E licences (basic driving license) is $48. The fee to transfer your CDL to Florida is $75.
- If you are not a US Citizen, you'll need to provide additional documentation, such as a Green Card or Naturalization certificate.
- After acquiring your Florida driver's license, visit a Florida insurance agent to insure your vehicle, and then transfer your automobile's registration.
- Motor vehicle offices are open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5 p.m., except on state holidays.
- If you do not have an out-of-state license, you may be require to pass a written, and/or physical driving test.
- Florida law requires all applicants to submit to and pass a vision and hearing test prior to receiving their Florida license.